The 5 Koshas; A Pathway to Bliss

Today is a super exciting guest post from Jackie Fernandes of
It's a coveted part of a yoga class: savasana, dead man's pose, where students focus on the breath that helps bring stillness to the mind, body, and soul. As a yoga teacher, I often hear most students inform me that this portion of the class makes it all the hard work of the moving meditation performed through asana worth it. The bliss they crave at the end of their practice.

According to a report by, the yoga industry projected to be an 11.6 billion dollar industry by 2020. This report tells us the whole being wellness benefits of the practice for the mind, body, and soul is beyond asana or movement. It is a practice for mental, emotional, and physical wellbeing. However, how do you care for those elements unseen?

If you haven't noticed, there has been a shift in the personal development movement. Gone are the days of checking items off your to-do list. The days of overachievement for proof of your uniqueness or worth are gone. The days of focusing on how you want to fell are here.

The focus to transfer our ability to encapsulate the serene feeling found at the end of yoga practice in savasana has become a hunger pain many of us long to feed. So how can you find the pathway to bliss off the yoga mat? By focusing on energy sheaths known as the 5 koshas. 

Unlike the 7 energy centers known as chakras, the koshas progressively help us take what is formless to the energetic stage into the physical plane. Unlike the chakras, the koshas build upon leveraging the self-learning of each state to experience bliss. A brief overview of the 5 koshas is as follows.

1.    Anandamaya Kosha, the Bliss Body

The purest of the koshas because it is the closest to the Source. When individual experiences this state there is no fear just a sense of peace of being. The epicenter of pure light and love is discovered here in which individuals understand the concept of I Am-ness.

2.    Vijnanamaya Kosha, the Wisdom Body

Absorbing the sensory messages received by the body, the Wisdom body focuses on discernment and deciphering unreality versus reality. Space where an individual ability to gain clarity and access the higher mind incorporating logic, science, and reasoning. An openness to exploration and clarity here leads to increased intuition.

3.    Manamaya kosha, the Mental Body

Key access is through the eye which takes information received from the external environment and creates the mental imprints of our minds. Responsible for the internal struggles related to beliefs the experiences which formed them.

4.    Pranamaya Kosha, the Energy Body

Breath is the life force that energized the body and links the connection to the 7 chakras or energy centers, meridians, and sensation of the physical body. Engages in the healing process of the individual and brings them closer to the Source or Spirit.

5.    Anamaya kosha, the Physical Body

The visible part of the koshas, dense in nature, therefore the most challenging to create change. The place where manifestation is most familiar to us in the physical form. The furthest sheath from the source, it receives the least light and is the least dense of all the koshas. One who does the work to become transparent with self experiences the greatest lightness from Source.

The beauty of the 5 koshas is that we have the ability to access them at any time through practices like tools like meditation and Yoga Nidra. A tangible example of how yoga can transfer into our daily lives, off the mat, and be used to find our pathway to true bliss.

Hope you all enjoyed this as much as I did!

Until next time, Rosa